13 November, 2006

The Seven Deadly Sins

Through a series of the next seven posts, I am going to explore my perception of the cardinal sins which, according to early Christian teachings, if indulged in, resulted in punishment in hell. the sins are divided into two categories: venial (can be forgiven through confession) and capital (leads to damnation in hell)

St. Gregory the Great wrote about the seven vices in his work Moralia in Job in the later part of 6 A.D. He arranged the sins according to their offence against love. I will use this ranking to follow the sins one by one.

Each sin has a corresponding virtue and is linked to a particular symbol , demon and punishment in heaven.

let me off..till my next..


  1. hmm......superbia, avaritia, luxuria, invidia, gula, ira, acedia. Would be immmensely interesting to see how this unfolds..especially the treatment of ira and luxuria....

    but why the sudden urge to indulge in the vices...

  2. recently se7en dekhi kya?

  3. bee: why do the vices roll off your tongue oh so smoothly...eh?

    sid:only you could come up with that.ha ha ha

  4. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  5. Anonymous9:44 am

    you know what happened to me yesterday night ?


  6. u indulged in the third vice:greed
    rather, you smoked your way through it

  7. Anonymous10:03 am

    greed for someone you can't get enough of, ma'am...is great...

    and i just bore my way through...not smoked it...

    yours lock,stock and 2 smoking barrleingly

  8. interesting....very...we had done a choreography on that.....lets see how words shape them...

  9. ani:bore ur way through boredom? see the smoke swirl out of my ears...

    invincible: anonymous? who art thou?



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...